Web Accessibility Standards

SF State has adopted the CSU ATI Accessibility requirements which incorporate both Section 508 and the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. Download the full list of SF State web standards (.docx)

Section 508

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act was enacted in 1998 and required of the federal government to make all electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities.  In January 2017,  the U.S. Access Board published a final rule revising the accessibility requirements for information and communication technology (ICT).

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0

WCAG 2.0 has been developed by the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), which is a project within the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). The guidelines are considered the international standard for web accessibility and they are used in many countries around the globe as the baseline for their policies and regulations.

SF State Template

We recommend using the SF State Web Template for your website. The SF State Web Template has been developed with accessibility in mind. It guarantees, if used correctly, that the basic features of a website such as navigation, search functions and layout structure are accessible to people with disabilities.
More information about the SF State Web Template.

Drupal @ SF State

Drupal is a content management system that helps you to edit and manage your website in an easy way. Non-technical users can update the content.  Once setup, Drupal requires no advanced technical skills. It saves your department money and time. Drupal at SF State is using the SF State template, which mostly ensures accessibility. The Drupal team and the ATI team work closely together to make sure that all modules and features that are used by the SF State Drupal instance are accessible. For more information on Drupal and how you can request an account, please go to http://drupal.sfsu.edu.